• Nikki Lynn Devitt

    Just my take on being a mother of three boys, life in Northern Michigan and a bunch of other things.

  • Menu

  • Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Just the Technical Stuff

If Only I could do that…

It takes a lot of guts to be different.

You have to be prepared for the taunts and teasing as well as the funny looks and long stares, not just from children it sadly applies to adults too. I’ve never been one to follow the leader, but I’ve never gotten that knack for not worrying what someone may think if I wear or act “too different” either.

Obviously, I did not pass that fear along to my 10-year-old son Brady. To begin with, Brady’s DNA makes him stand out in a crowd. Pale skin, light eyes, and a mass or RED hair and a sprinkling of freckles. With a family tree made up primarily of Irish and French, like me, he never really had a chance in that department. I figure at some point early on Brady decided that if he was going to be a little different why not just go all the way to, “Did you see that guy?”

I am proud of my children for so many reasons, in their own way they are each so amazing and so wonderful that I have to stop and thank God for such incredible blessings. Each child has their own special quality that not only intrigues me but others as well.

With Brady, it is hard to put into words. He has an incredible ability to empathize with others and he is so free in giving of himself that we often can only say, he’s just so “Brady” as no other words will do. And it’s not just his compassion and incredible imagination that makes him stand apart from the crowd, he is forever saying that being himself is above all else the most important thing he can be.

Take for instance a gift from his older brother Brett. It’s no secret in our family that Brady LOVES wolves. He feels drawn to them, has photos and statues all over his side of the room. So when his big brother presented him with a Wolf SpiritHood he won, Brady was beyond happy he went all the way to ecstatic in two seconds flat. Being the over-protective mother I am, the first thing I said when I saw it was that he couldn’t wear it out in public, only at the house or when we went on walks in the woods. (I type that and think, sheesh, a wolf costume in the woods that sounds safe!) By the way, if you have don’t know what a SpiritHood is you can Google it or wait until the end of this Blog.

It only took a week or so before Brady got dressed and went and got his SpiritHood before walking out the door so he could wear it to school.

I said no.

He said yes.

I told him he would get made fun of.

He told me he always did anyway.

This went back and forth for some time, there was yelling and even a few tears. Finally, he gave in and said he would keep it home. I told myself I did the right thing, I wanted to keep my baby safe from taunts and ridicule. I wanted him to feel confident, not ashamed. I was sure I was right and he was wrong, that is until I saw the look on his face. He was crushed, and he did not shine like the Brady I know and love, he just looked defeated. I could not be responsible for that look on my child’s face. I told him I was wrong and he was right (that must have just about given him a heart attack come to think of it) and that he should be himself at all times and be strong and proud of who he was. I told him I was proud of him and I loved him and sent him on his way with SpiritHood proudly displayed on his head.

It was one of the longest days as a mother I have ever known. I was dying to know he was OK and that the teasing was not too intense and his feelings were still intact. I should have known with Brady not to worry. He is just so, “Brady”. Not only was there no sign of tears when he came home he was grinning from ear to ear. Standing tall and strong and wearing his SpiritHood. He was happy to report only a few people said anything bad, some thought it was even cool, but most never said a thing. He considered his choice and extreme success and so did I.

The SpiritHood incident has now lead to other things: more SpiritHood time, ties and his black Fedora hat. Not to mention a few shirts you would see more in a board room rather than a Schoolyard. If he had his way he would have a suit for School I am sure of it.

So this morning as he kisses me goodbye with his latest statement (hat, tie, shirt combo) I was beaming with pride, and yes even envy. He is so much his own person that I am in constant amazement of his strength and conviction to never compromise who he is to please others.

Brady in his Spirit Hood

I firmly believe that the world would be a much better place if more of us had that conviction. Yes being more like Brady would be a good thing. Maybe its time I find my own “SpiritHood” and never think twice about being me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aunt Charlotte

     /  September 30, 2011

    I’m so proud of my nephew….he has always been one to not care what other people think, and so very proud if him for this. Luv u Brady…

    Reply
  2. love this post. Spirit Hood for life. Great Kid!

    Reply

Leave a comment